Ballot box. Pic: Anthony Karanja
Ballot box. Pic: Anthony Karanja

As Lichfield and Burntwood voters prepare to go to the ballot box for the local elections on May 5, The Lichfield Blog has offered each of the candidates the chance to have their say.

We’ve sent out questionnaires to all District Council candidates and will publish their responses on the site to help you decide where to put your cross on election day. If your local candidates haven’t responded yet, why not chase them?

Name: Jeyan Anketell
Liberal Democrats
Ward: Stowe
Occupation: I am a part-time semi-retired science teacher and I also serve locally as a non-stipendiary (unpaid) Anglican priest.

What has made you decide to stand for election?
I served as a City Councillor for Leomansley Ward from 2003 – 2007. I am keen to see that our local council prioritises essential services at a time when our economy has to recover from the mess left by the last Labour government and local finance balances have been emptied by the Conservative council – leaving local spending budgets exposed in future years.  I live in Stowe ward.

What are the key local issues for you in your ward?
Maintaining the character and beauty of Stowe ward, bring empty properties back into use and improve  provision in Lichfield of affordable housing for sale or rent.

If you are elected how do you plan to keep your constituents informed of what you are doing to represent them?
Through regular distribution of newsletters and street surveys.

How do you feel you will be able to make a difference to your constituents?
By publicising my contact details through newletters and responding to their queries or problems.

Anything else you would like to add?
In my time as a City Councillor for Leomansley ward I had a track record of very good attendance at all types of relevant Council Meetings and of taking initiatives to improve the character of the city landscape, for example in connection with the extension of Cathedral Walk right up to the Bowling Green roundabout.

Also standing in the Stowe ward (once they have responded, these will link to the response):

  • Bernard Derrick (Conservatives)
  • Colin Greatorex (Conservatives)
  • Karen Maunder (UKIP)
  • Max Rea (Lib Dem)
  • Christel Roe (Lib Dem)
  • Stephen Sanders (Labour)
  • David Smedley (Conservatives)
  • Rich Spencer (Green Party)
  • Malcolm Watson (Labour)
  • Caroline Wood (Labour)


Founder of Lichfield Live and editor of the site.