Ballot box. Pic: Anthony Karanja
Ballot box. Pic: Anthony Karanja

As Lichfield and Burntwood voters prepare to go to the ballot box for the local elections on May 5, The Lichfield Blog has offered each of the candidates the chance to have their say.

We’ve sent out questionnaires to all District Council candidates and will publish their responses on the site to help you decide where to put your cross on election day. If your local candidates haven’t responded yet, why not chase them?

Name: John Smith
Party: Liberal Democrats
Ward: Leomansley
Occupation: Retired Building Estimator

What has made you decide to stand for election?
I have stood in this ward ever since 1995 and have represented the ward for eight years at District level and 12 years at City and would wish to continue work for local people.

What are the key local issues for you in your ward?
Non adoption of roads, lighting etc on Darwin Park despite parts of estate being completed for eight years. Effect of the Local Development Framework on the buffer zone on Darwin Park. On street parking on Beacon Street, Swinfen Broun estate and Darwin Park. Speed of traffic on Walsall Road, Beacon Street and Stafford Road.

If you are elected how do you plan to keep your constituents informed of what you are doing to represent them?
By continuing to distribute Focus leaflets and holding councillor surgeries to consult on all major items effecting the ward.

How do you feel you will be able to make a difference to your constituents?
By continuing to consult them throughout the next 4 years and acting upon their responses.

Anything else you would like to add?
I would try my best to represent the views and concerns of all the residents in the ward.

Also standing in the Leomansley ward (once they have responded, these will link to the response):

  • Bob Awty (Conservatives)
  • Trevor Cook (UKIP)
  • Iain Eadle (Conservatives)
  • Ian Jackson (Lib Dem)
  • Derek Love (Lib Dem)
  • Andrew Smith (Conservatives)
  • Mark Taylor (Labour)


Founder of Lichfield Live and editor of the site.