Ballot box. Pic: Anthony Karanja
Ballot box. Pic: Anthony Karanja

With Lichfield and Burntwood voters set to head for the polls to elect new District Councillors, some have refused the opportunity to get their views across to the electorate.

The Lichfield Blog sent out questionnaires to all candidates to try to lift the lid on the people behind the names on the ballot paper.

The result was a mixture of replies – some gave full and frank responses, while others decided to stick closer to the party line.

And – most worryingly of all – some opted to reject the idea of sharing their views.

One councillor-in-waiting, Neil Roberts, has refused to take part in The Lichfield Blog’s election round-up – claiming his constituents “have already been informed personally”.

Although he is standing for re-election in a no-contest in the Longdon ward, the Conservative candidate was invited to share his responses.

But despite the questionnaire initiative being praised for helping to get people to vote by the election registration officer for Lichfield District, Mr Roberts insisted he has no need to respond.

He told The Lichfield Blog:

“All my constituents have been informed personally as distinct from the limited number who may visit The Lichfield Blog.”

Ross Hawkes, founder of the site, admitted Mr Roberts’ decision was disappointing.

He said:

“It is baffling that Mr Roberts cannot do as so many other candidates – including the pre-election Conservative Leader of the council – have done, especially given the questions are designed to raise awareness among local residents of local politics and the people making decisions on their behalf.

“We contacted him after a Longdon resident asked why Mr Roberts had not been represented on our site. He clearly hadn’t been ‘informed personally’ by Mr Roberts as he had turned to our site to find answers about his councillor.

“It’s a shame that some candidates from all of the main parties opted out of the opportunity to air their views, but people can make of that what they will.”

Voting takes place across the district tomorrow, with the results being counted on Friday (May 6).

The full list of candidates standing can be found below – those who have replied will be linked to their responses.

All Saints

Alrewas and Fradley

Armitage with Handsacre

  • Richard Cox (Conservatives)
  • Jill Hyden (Labour)
  • Steve Hyden (Labour)
  • Thomas Marshall (Conservatives)
  • Elaine Moore (Labour)
  • Martyn Tittley (Conservatives)

Boley Park

Boney Hay

Bourne Vale

  • Brian Yeates (Conservatives)

Burntwood Central


Chase Terrace


Colton and Mavesyn Ridware

  • Shirley Barnett (Conservatives)


  • Brian Bacon (Conservatives)
  • Norma Bacon (Conservatives)
  • Colin Ball (Labour)
  • John Brooks (Labour)
  • Eileen Cope (UKIP)
  • Mark Ellis (Lib Dem)
  • David Leytham (Conservatives)
  • Keiren Parkes (Lib Dem)
  • Lorraine Parkes (Lib Dem)
  • John Walker (Independent)
  • Tony Wilkins (Labour)


  • Ian Lewin (Conservatives)
  • Glen Mynott (Labour)
  • Alan Pearce (Conservatives)
  • Hayley Taroni (Conservatives)



King’s Bromley

  • Ian Pritchard (Conservatives)


  • Bob Awty (Conservatives)
  • Trevor Cook (UKIP)
  • Iain Eadie (Conservatives)
  • Ian Jackson (Lib Dem)
  • Derek Love (Lib Dem)
  • Andrew Smith (Conservatives)
  • John Smith (Lib Dem)
  • Mark Taylor (Labour)

Little Aston

  • Roy Boffy (Labour)
  • Louise Flowith (Conservatives)
  • John Morris (Labour)
  • Joseph Powell (Conservatives)


  • Neil Roberts (Conservatives)

Mease and Tame

  • Sue Arnold (Conservatives)
  • Penny Bennion (Lib Dem)
  • Roger Bennion (Lib Dem)
  • Ellen Perkins (Conservatives)


  • Rita Hancocks (Conservatives)
  • Peter McTigue (Labour)
  • David Salter (Conservatives)

St John’s



  • Jeyan Anketell (Lib Dem)
  • Bernard Derrick (Conservatives)
  • Colin Greatorex (Conservatives)
  • Karen Maunder (UKIP)
  • Max Rea (Lib Dem)
  • Christel Roe (Lib Dem)
  • Stephen Sanders (Labour)
  • David Smedley (Conservatives)
  • Rich Spencer (Green Party)
  • Malcolm Watson (Labour)
  • Caroline Wood (Labour)



  • Robert Strachan (Conservatives)
  • Alan White (Conservatives)

Which parties are best at responding?

  • Green Party: 2 of 2 – 100%
  • Independent: 3 of 4 – 75%
  • Liberal Democrats: 16 of 22 – 73%
  • UKIP: 7 of 10 – 70%
  • Labour: 17 of 37 – 46%
  • Conservatives: 14 of 56 – 25%