The only news website
dedicated to Lichfield & Burntwood

Chasetown FC play out a pre-season draw against a Wolves XI

To a back drop of lightning, Chasetown FC and a Wolverhampton Wanderers XI played out an intriguing draw which either side could easily have won.

It was hardly end-to-end outstanding football but two fairly evenly matched teams played out a decent friendly which gave both sides plenty of positives to draw upon.

Lee Butler had the best early chance with a dipping drive that only just cleared Aaron McCarey’s crossbar.

Chris Slater, against the side where he began his career, drove a shot wide of the upright, but neither goalkeeper were really tested until the closing minute of the first half when Ryan Price produced a top class save to deny Jordan Cranston after he set up the chance himself with neat close control inside the penalty area.

Substitute Andy Westwood was lively after the break and was a whisker wide from a tight angle with McCarey beaten.

Paul Sullivan did his hopes for a starting line up no harm at all with a positive contribution in the second half including an effort which beat McCarey and flicked the side netting.

Wolves themselves hit the post when pinball inside the Chasetown area saw Tesfa Robinson’s attempted clearance off the line strike the post and somehow bounce to safety. Then, the Molineux men went even closer when Sam Whittall had a free header 6 yards out but could only loop it onto the roof of Price’s net.

Sullivan went even closer to a winner with a free kick that rattled the crossbar.

The Scholars did have the ball in the net with what couldn’t even be described as the last kick of the game as Richard Teesdale got the ball over the line from a free kick with clear use of a hand.

Chasetown: Ryan Price, Chris Slater, Louis Keenan, Grant Beckett, Tesfa Robinson, Richard Teesdale, Lee Butler (Andy Westwood), Danny Bragoli, Nick Wellecomme (Gary Hay), Danny Smith (Paul Sullivan), Theo Robinson (Simon Brown). Subs not used: Alex Forde, Robbie Millington, Rico Taylor, Danny Watson.
Wolverhampton Wanderers XI: Aaron McCarey, Kristian Kostrna, Jamie Reckord, Sam Whittall, Jamie Tank, Michael Ihiekwe, Eusebio Gomez Baceissi, Tim Jakobsson, David Moli, Amido Bastia Condi, Jordan Cranston. Subs: Jim Kellerman, Jonathan Flatt, Stuart Urquart, Ibrahim Keita, Tendai Matinyadze.

A volunteer wrote this. Say thanks with a coffee.