Don’t miss out!

Get all the most important news and events to your inbox.

Chasetown FC manager Mark Swann says he is “chuffed” after several members of his first team squad extended their stays at the club.

Curtis Pond

Curtis Pond, Alex Melbourne, Craig Deakin, Lewis Riley-Stewart, Alex Curtis, Joe Brown, Oil Hayward, Will Whieldon, Jack Langston, Liam Kirton have all agreed to stay at The Scholars Ground for the 2020/21 season.

Swann said keeping the nucleus of the squad together was a boost for the club. He told the club website:

Protect our independence - donate now


Your contribution is appreciated.

Our non-for-profit, independent community journalism is produced by volunteers and survives thanks to your regular contributions.

“I’m chuffed the lads have agreed to stay at the football club.

“We have a really good core group of players and I’m delighted we have been able to retain most of them.

“Naturally, players have received good offers elsewhere, but I’m glad that they saw enough in the games we took charge of to decide Chasetown was the best place for them to play their football.”

Mark Swann

Some names have left the club though with Ryan Winter heading to Stafford Rangers, James O’Neill joining Newtown and George Cater agreeing a deal with Hednesford Town,

Danny Cocks and Dan Beddows have also left due.

“We are disappointed to lose the lads as we wanted to keep the whole squad, but we also understood the travel commitment was difficult for Danny and Dan.

“The other three lads unfortunately received very good offers from clubs at a higher level so as disappointed as we are we wish them all the best.”

Mark Swann


Founder of Lichfield Live and editor of the site.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *