Ballot box. Pic: Anthony Karanja
Ballot box. Pic: Anthony Karanja

As Lichfield and Burntwood voters prepare to go to the ballot box for the local elections on May 5, The Lichfield Blog has offered each of the candidates the chance to have their say.

We’ve sent out questionnaires to all District Council candidates and will publish their responses on the site to help you decide where to put your cross on election day. If your local candidates haven’t responded yet, why not chase them?

Name: Paul Ray
Party: Liberal Democrats
Ward: St John’s
Occupation: Partner in a law firm

What has made you decide to stand for election?
I have lived in Lichfield for more than ten years and it is a great place to live. I now want to make a contribution to the Lichfield community.

What are the key local issues for you in your ward?
South Lichfield has had its full share of development and the existing green belt boundaries must be firmly defended. Local traffic issues: Shortbutts Lane area – particularly at peak times of the day and the speed of traffic on the Birmingham Road.

If you are elected how do you plan to keep your constituents informed of what you are doing to represent them?
As well as availability to all constituents through phone, post, e-mail and in person, there would be regular feedback through our Focus newsletter which goes out to all in the ward.

How do you feel you will be able to make a difference to your constituents?
I have a young family living in the St John’s ward and so have a good understanding of local issues. Also I have an enthusiastic and energetic manner which means I can get things done.

Anything else you would like to add?
Lichfield has so much to offer but we must plan for the future and so build more housing which is affordable for young people and families and encourage more employment to our City and District.

Also standing in the St John’s ward (once they have responded, these will link to the response):

  • Gwyneth Boyle (Conservatives)
  • Michael Hawkes (Labour)
  • Keith LePla (Lib Dem)
  • John Maunder (UKIP)
  • Gordon Owers (Lib Dem)
  • Christopher Spruce (Conservatives)
  • John Wilks (Conservatives)


Founder of Lichfield Live and editor of the site.