The only news website dedicated to Lichfield & Burntwood

Only UKIP councillor on Lichfield District Council resigns

Cllr John Mills

Cllr John Mills

The only UKIP councillor at Lichfield District Council has resigned.

John Mills won the Fazeley seat at the last local elections, but has now opted to step down LichfieldLive has learned.

Councillors were told Mr Mills had resigned due to being unable to balance his work commitments with his role on the local authority.

Speaking after his election win in 2015, he said: “I’m not a political animal. I became interested in politics only a few years ago, before that I always voted for the best of what was a bad bunch. But I’m sure I’ll find my feet soon enough.

“UKIP leader Nigel Farage inspired me to get involved in politics – I feel the man speaks my language, and that UKIP’s policies are just common sense.”

A by-election will now be held within 35 days if two voters in the ward make a written request.

A volunteer wrote this. Say thanks with a coffee.


Advertise here and reach 10,000 visitors every month!

Founder of LichfieldLive and editor of the site.


  1. JimBob

    14th March, 2017 at 9:05 pm

    A UKIP politician finally makes a half-decent decision.

  2. A Better Burntwood

    15th March, 2017 at 8:37 am

    well…slap me on the bum and call me nancy!

    What a week for the politics of Lichfield District. Absence from duties, declarations of electorate-betrayal, and now a resignation.

    Atleast I can ‘just about’ accept that Mills has stepped down for a good reason, he’s too busy. I admire this more then Mosson’s approach/ reply.

    However, I would like to ask someone, what is the political landscape in Fazeley? Would it be a close election?

  3. Doug

    15th March, 2017 at 9:52 am

    Results from 2015 below.

    Greens 197
    UKIP 713
    Labour 707
    Labour 403
    Conservative 1060
    Conservative 695

  4. A Better Burntwood

    15th March, 2017 at 10:24 am

    oooh, very interesting. I wonder if the local parties will push for this seat